Located in north-central Saskatchewan, the Lac La Ronge Indian Band is the largest First Nation in Saskatchewan, and one of the 10 largest in Canada, with a 2011 population of 9247. Our reserve lands extend from rich farmlands in central Saskatchewan, all the way north through the boreal forest to the mighty Churchill River and beyond. Our central administration office is located in La Ronge, 241 km north of Prince Albert, on the edge of the Pre-Cambrian Shield. We are proud of our heritage and our Cree language, and of the educational opportunities, economic successes and social development work made possible by many years of strong leadership.

Official Name:
Lac La Ronge Indian Band Number:

Chief and Council:
Chief Tammy Cook-Searson
Little Red River John R Halkett
Little Red River Keith Mirasty
Grandmother's Bay Leon J Charles
Hall Lake Sampson A Ratt
Sucker River Kenny Ratt
Stanley Mission Benice Roberts
Stanley Mission John P Roberts
Stanley Mission Lester G Roberts
La Ronge Michael J Bird
La Ronge Ann R Ratt
La Ronge Larry Roberts
La Ronge Sam Roberts

Council of Elders:

La Ronge
  • Jacob Ratt
  • Catherine Charles
Sucker River
  • George Venne
Stanley Mission
  • Joe Roberts
  • Elizabeth Charles
Grandmother's Bay
  • John P McKenzie
Little Red River
  • Thomas Mirasty
Hall Lake
  • Kate Hamilton

Executive Staff:

  • Blake Charles, Executive Director
  • Anna Sanderson, Executive Secretary

Senior Management:

  • Russell Roberts, CEO of Kitsaki Management Limited Partnership
  • Dexter Kinequon, Director of Indian Child and Family Services
  • Patsy Roberts-Head, Director of Administration
  • Morris Cook , Director of Education
  • Mary Carlson, Director of Health
  • Tayven Roberts, Director of Public Works/Housing
  • Debra Charles, Human Resource Officer
  • Bella Roberts, Social Development Administrator
  • Kevin Roberts, JRMCC Manager


Membership Authority: Section 11 by Indian Act

Election System: Band custom

Term of Office: 3 years

Last Election: March 31, 2011

Next Election: March 2014

Council Quorum: 7 of 13

Funding Source: Financial Transfer Agreement


Treaty History & Language:

Territory: Treaty 6, Adhesion

Place of Signing: Molanosa (north end of Montreal Lake)

Date Signed: February 11, 1889

Dominant Language: Woodland Cree


Total Band Membership: 9247 as of May 13, 2011


Reserve Communities & Lands:

The Lac La Ronge Indian Band is composed of six reserve communities and 18 separate reserve lands.


  • Grandmother's Bay
  • Hall Lake
  • La Ronge
  • Little Red River
  • Stanley Mission
  • Sucker River

Political Affiliations:

  • Prince Albert Grand Council (regional)
  • Federation of Saskatchewan Nations (provincial)
  • Assembly of First Nations (national)


The central office in La Ronge administers the band programs for the Lac La Ronge/Kitsaki, Hall Lake, and Sucker River communities in the areas of:

  • Administration
  • Education, Employment and Training
  • Social Development.
  • Health Services
  • Indian Child and Family Services
  • Public Works/Housing Branch (includes Lands Management).
  • Kitsaki Management Limited Partnership.
  • Woodland Cree Inc.
  • Justice Unit
  • Day Program
  • Keethanow Bingo North
  • LLRIB Gas Bar
  • Keethanow Lumber & Furniture
  • Keethanow Superfood Market

The communities of Stanley Mission, Grandmother's Bay, and Little Red River are self-administered. This arrangement ensures that these communities have more control over their services and programs.




Active Employment

Domain and Web Hosting Sponsored by: Comptech Innovation